Scroll Down


The Surgical Students’ Society of Melbourne (SSSM) is the peak surgical interest group at the University of Melbourne, Melbourne Medical School. The SSSM is a not-for-profit organisation run by current Doctor of Medicine candidates that represents over 1,400 students across seven clinical school sites in metropolitan Melbourne and rural Victoria.


 We aim to provide, and maximise access to, high quality surgical education to all students at the Melbourne Medical School, regardless of their clinical site



The society aims to promote surgical research amongst medical students, to further surgical knowledge and understanding, and to instil an interest in research from the beginning of students’ medical careers


The society strives to advocate for both medical students at the University of Melbourne, by ensuring their surgical interest and educational needs are met, and the wider community on a national and global scale


If the love of surgery is a proof of a person's being adapted for it, then certainly I am fitted to he a surgeon; for thou can'st hardly conceive what a high degree of enjoyment I am from day to day experiencing in this bloody and butchering department of the healing art.

- Joseph Lister   


Upcoming Events

  • MD1 Suturing Night
    MD1 Suturing Night
    Time is TBD
    University of Melbourne, Parkville VIC 3010, Australia
  • Innovation in Surgical Anatomy Competition
    Innovation in Surgical Anatomy Competition
    Time is TBD
    University of Melbourne, Parkville VIC 3010, Australia
    Motivating surgically minded medical students to explore surgical anatomy or procedures
  • Diversity in Surgery Night
    Diversity in Surgery Night
    Time is TBD
    University of Melbourne, Parkville VIC 3010, Australia
    Explore the barriers at play within surgery and celebrate the growth and diversification of the speciality

The Team

Damien Wu

President / Austin Site Chair 

Jake Carmody

Edward Benson

Athanasia Siderellis

Benton Condor

Vice President External

Vice President Internal 

Secretary / Epworth Site Chair

Treasurer / Northern Site Chair

Ruiwen Xu

Kimia Pourhossein

Chris Mackenzie

Dane Hicks 

Education Officer / St Vincent's Site Chair

Diversity Officer / Western Site Chair

Department of Surgery Liaison

Publications and Promotions

Alexander Joller

Jasraaj Singh

Phillipe Adamtchek

Kirsten Talbot

RMH Site Chair

Rural Site Chair

MD1 Representative

MD1 Representative